When was France admitted in the European Union?

France is a member country of the EU since January 1, 1958, with its geographic size of 633,187 km², and population number 66,415,161, as per 2015.

What countries joined the EU in 2004?

1 May 2004 – 10 new countries

Cyprus and Malta join the EU along with 8 Central and Eastern European countries — Czechia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia — finally ending the division of Europe after the Second World War.

Why did France become a member of the EU?

Answer and Explanation: France joined the European Union in order to foster economic, political, social, and cultural unity among the people of Europe. This was the common goal of all the nations that joined the EU. … France was one of the European Economic Community’s founding members.

When did France become a member of the EU?


Name Accession HDI
Denmark 1973 0.940
Estonia 2004 0.892
Finland 1995 0.938
France Founder 0.901

In what order did countries join the EU?

The first agreement establishing the European Economic Community was signed in 1957 by six countries: Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Denmark, Ireland, and the United Kingdom joined in 1973, Greece in 1981, Spain and Portugal in 1986.

IMPORTANT:  What does the Friar suggest Juliet do to avoid marrying Paris?

Who joined EU in 2013?

Background. Croatia applied for EU membership in 2003 and was in negotiations from 2005 until 2011. On 9 December 2011 leaders from the EU and Croatia signed the accession treaty. The country became the 28th EU member country on 1 July 2013.

Who joined the EU in 2003?

The Treaty of Accession 2003 was the agreement between the member states of the European Union and ten countries (Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovenia, Slovakia), concerning these countries’ accession into the EU (see 2004 enlargement of the European Union).

Who represents France in the EU?

The Commissioner nominated by France to the European Commission is Thierry Breton , who is responsible for Internal Market. The Commission is represented in each EU country by a local office, called a “representation”.

When did the French and English stop fighting?

The Allied victory at Waterloo in 1815 marked the end of the Napoleonic Era. Though it was the last war between Britain and France, there were later threats of war.

Is France part of European Union?

The EU countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.