What are France’s five overseas departments?

France has 5 overseas departments that at the same time are overseas regions (Guadeloupe, Guiana, Martinique, La Réunion and Mayotte). They are, in general, based on the same rules as the departments and regions in the Metropole.

Which are the overseas territories of France?

The five overseas regions of France are:

  • Guadeloupe (Caribbean)
  • Martinique (Caribbean)
  • French Guiana (South America)
  • Mayotte (Indian Ocean)
  • Réunion (Indian Ocean)

How many French overseas territories are there?

France has 13 distinct overseas territories, 11 of which have permanent populations. Four of France’s overseas territories are in the Caribbean Sea, four are in the Pacific Ocean, three are in the Indian Ocean, and one is in North America.

How many departments does France have?

Ninety-six departments are in metropolitan France, and five are overseas departments, which are also classified as overseas regions.

Departments of France.

Departments of France Départements français (French)
Found in Regions
Number 101 (as of 1 January 2021)
Possible types Metropolitan Departments Overseas Departments
IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: Is Air France KLM state owned?

Why does France have overseas departments?

These overseas territories “give France secure platforms for power projection all over the world, and the possibility to redeploy military assets in response to changes in the strategic situation.” They allow France to be present “as a credible partner and ally in both the Indian Ocean and the Asia-Pacific region.” (§ …

Are French overseas departments part of France?

The overseas departments and regions of France (French: départements et régions d’outre-mer, pronounced [depaʁtəmɑ̃ e ʁeʒjɔ̃ d‿utʁəmɛʁ]; DROM) are departments of France that are outside metropolitan France, the European part of France. They have exactly the same status as mainland France’s regions and departments.

Is Guadeloupe a French territory?

Since 1974 Guadeloupe has had the status of a full région of France. The territory of Guadeloupe is divided into two arrondissements (Basse-Terre and Pointe-à-Pitre), which are in turn divided into cantons and communes, each administered by an elected municipal council.

Is Martinique part of the European Union?

One of the Windward Islands, it is directly north of Saint Lucia, northwest of Barbados and south of Dominica. Martinique is also an Outermost Region (OMR) of the European Union and a special territory of the European Union; the currency in use is the euro.

Website Prefecture, Territorial collectivity

Is French Guiana France?

French Guiana, overseas territorial collectivity of France, situated on the northeastern coast of South America. French Guiana is bounded by Brazil to the south and east, Suriname to the west, and the Atlantic Ocean to the northeast. The capital is Cayenne.

IMPORTANT:  Question: What was Jefferson's strategy to avoid war with Britain and or France?

Where are the French colonies?

The French colonial empire in the Americas comprised New France (including Canada and Louisiana), French West Indies (including Saint-Domingue, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Dominica, St. Lucia, Grenada, Tobago and other islands) and French Guiana. French North America was known as ‘Nouvelle France’ or New France.

What are the names of the departments in France?

french departments !

  • Ain – Bourg-en-Bresse.
  • Aisne – Laon.
  • Allier – Moulins.
  • Alpes-de-Haute-Provence – Digne.
  • Hautes-Alpes – Gap.
  • Alpes Maritimes – Nice.
  • Ardèche – Privas.
  • Ardennes – Charleville-Mézières.

What are the departments in Paris?

Beneath their fabulous Art Nouveau glass domes, the Parisian department stores have become must-see monuments

  • La Vallée Village. …
  • Le Bon Marché Rive Gauche. …
  • Galeries Lafayette Paris Haussmann. …
  • Printemps Haussmann. …
  • Le BHV Marais. …
  • Printemps du Louvre. …
  • Samaritaine Paris Pont-Neuf. …
  • Citadium.

Where is Dept 13 France?

The department of Bouches-du-Rhône is located in the region of region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. The department of Bouches-du-Rhône has the number 13 and is divided into 4 districts , 57 townships and 119 municipalities.

What are three of France’s overseas departments in the Americas?

Three of France’s overseas departments in the Americas are Martinique, Guadeloupe and French Guiana.

Is Martinique one of the overseas departments of France?

Government and society

A part of overseas France with the status of territorial collectivity, Martinique is divided into four arrondissements and subdivided into cantons and communes, each of which is administered by an elected municipal council.

What are two of the French overseas territories?

Inhabited departments and collectivities

IMPORTANT:  Best answer: What are the pro natalist policies in France?
Name Capital Land area (km2)
French Guiana Cayenne 83,534
French Polynesia Papeete 3,521
Guadeloupe Basse-Terre 1,628
Martinique Fort-de-France 1,128