Quick Answer: What are the two French territories called?

French Southern and Antarctic Lands (Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises or TAAF); overseas territory of France (since 1956). It is currently the only overseas territory.

What are the 2 territories of France?

Map of Saint Pierre and Miquelon. Saint Pierre and Miquelon is the only overseas French territory located in North America. As its name implies, the territory consists of two small islands, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, the latter of which is the largest.

What were the French territories?

The five French overseas territorial communities are Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the Wallis and Futuna Islands and French Polynesia.

How many territories does France have?

France currently has 13 overseas territories across the globe that are home to some 2.6 million people. All of the residents are French nationals, can vote for president and send representatives to France’s National Assembly and Senate.

What are the French territories in the Pacific?

The fact that France holds three territories in the South Pacific—New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna, and French Polynesia—accounting for about one third of the Pacific Islands’ combined exclusive economic zone (EEZ), is frequently forgotten.

IMPORTANT:  Question: What is the meaning of Bestie in French?

Is Guadeloupe a French territory?

Since 1974 Guadeloupe has had the status of a full région of France. The territory of Guadeloupe is divided into two arrondissements (Basse-Terre and Pointe-à-Pitre), which are in turn divided into cantons and communes, each administered by an elected municipal council.

What are counties called in France?

France is divided into eighteen administrative regions (French: régions, singular région [ʁeʒjɔ̃]), of which thirteen are located in metropolitan France (in Europe), while the other five are overseas regions (not to be confused with the overseas collectivities, which have a semi-autonomous status).

How many British territories are there?

The British Overseas Territories (BOTs), also known as United Kingdom Overseas Territories (UKOTs), are fourteen territories all with a constitutional and historical link with the United Kingdom.

Are French territories part of France?

Overseas France (French: France d’outre-mer, l’Outre-mer, or colloquially les DOM-TOM) consists of thirteen French-administered territories outside Europe, mostly remains of the French colonial empire that chose to remain a part of the French state under various statuses after decolonization.

Where are US territories?

The U.S. has five permanently inhabited territories: Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands in the Caribbean Sea, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands in the North Pacific Ocean, and American Samoa in the South Pacific Ocean.

What are the bordering countries of France?

Roughly hexagonal in outline, its continental territory is bordered on the northeast by Belgium and Luxembourg, on the east by Germany, Switzerland, and Italy, on the south by the Mediterranean Sea, Spain, and Andorra, on the west by the Bay of Biscay, and on the northwest by the English Channel (La Manche).

IMPORTANT:  Puis je conduire en France avec un permis anglais?

What are the 5 departments of France?

Since March 2011, the five overseas departments and regions of France are:

  • French Guiana in South America;
  • Guadeloupe in the Caribbean;
  • Martinique in the Caribbean;
  • Mayotte in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of East Africa;
  • Réunion in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of East Africa.

How many overseas French territories are there?

Overseas France. France has 12 overseas territories. Combined, they are home to nearly 2.6 million inhabitants. Amongst these, a distinction is made between overseas departments and regions (DROM) and overseas communities and territories (CTOM).

Which island is French territory?

The Islands of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Martin, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon (Atlantic Ocean) Reunion island, Mayotte, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (Indian Ocean) French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna (Pacific Ocean)

What is the name given to a French overseas territory in French?

The term overseas territory (French: territoire d’outre-mer or TOM) is an administrative division of France and is currently only applied to the French Southern and Antarctic Lands.

Is Tahiti a French territory?

Tahiti, in the Society islands, became a French colony in 1880. France later annexed other islands to form the French Colony of Oceania. In 1946 the islands became an overseas territory and in 2004 gained “overseas country” status.