Frequent question: How many region does France have?

Does France have 22 regions?

Since 2016, Metropolitan France has been divided administratively into 13 regions; until 2015, there were 22 regions. … There are also five overseas regions.

What are France’s 18 regions?

18 Regions Of France List (Map + Attractions)

  • Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes (Auvergne-Rhône-Alps Region)
  • Bourgogne-Franche-Comté (Burgundy-Free County Region)
  • Bretagne (Brittany Region)
  • Centre-Val de Loire (Centre-Loire Valley Region)
  • Corse (Corsica Region)
  • Grand Est (Great East Region)
  • Hauts-de-France (Upper France Region)

What are the 6 regions of France?

Regions of France

  • Avignon – Provence Region. …
  • Bordeaux – Aquitaine Region. …
  • Dijon – Burgundy Region. …
  • French Alps Region. …
  • Loire Valley – Pays De La Loire Region. …
  • Lyon – Rhone Alpes Region. …
  • Nice & Cannes – French Riviera Region. …
  • Normandy – Normandy Region.

How many regions did France originally have?

Mainland France comprises 13 administrative regions which are in turn subdivided into départements. The regions were created by the Law of Decentralisation (2 March 1982) with legal status. Originally the country was divided into 22 regions before the implementation of a major reorganisation of French regions.

IMPORTANT:  What is the name of the French meme song?

What are the 27 regions of France?

Regions of France

Region Capital Km2
Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Lyon 69 711
Bourgogne-Franche-Comté Dijon 47 784
Brittany Rennes 27 208
Centre-Val de Loire Orléans 39 151

Where is French department 21?

France is divided into regions, which are then divided into departments ( Departements ).

Departments of France.

Department Cote d’Or
Capital Dijon
Region (since 2016) Bourgogne Franche-Comté
Region (before 2016) Bourgogne

Is French Guiana France?

French Guiana, overseas territorial collectivity of France, situated on the northeastern coast of South America. French Guiana is bounded by Brazil to the south and east, Suriname to the west, and the Atlantic Ocean to the northeast. The capital is Cayenne.

How many provinces are there in France?

This page provides summary descriptions of France’s 22 provincial regions, listing geographic size, population figures, administrative capitals, and brief information on resources and economy.

How many regions are there?

A common way of referring to regions in the United States is grouping them into 5 regions according to their geographic position on the continent: the Northeast, Southwest, West, Southeast, and Midwest.

What are the four regions of France?

Regions of France List

  • Northern France: Normandy, Hauts de France, Ile de France.
  • Southern France: Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Occitanie, Corsica Island.
  • Central France: Centre-Val de Loire.
  • Eastern France: Grand Est, Auvergne-Rhône Alpes, Bourgogne-Franche Comté

What are the new regions of France?

There are now 7 new regions formed of:

  • Alsace, Champagne-Ardenne and Lorraine become Grand-Est.
  • Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou-Charentes become Nouvelle Aquitaine.
  • Auvergne and Rhône-Alpes merge.
  • Bourgogne-Franche-Comté merge.
  • Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées become Occitanie.
IMPORTANT:  Question: When did the US go to war with France?

Which region is Paris in?

Paris is positioned at the centre of the Île-de-France region, which is crossed by the Seine, Oise, and Marne rivers.

How many counties does France have?

18 regions consist of France, which in turn cut into 101 departments, 343 counties, 4058 districts and 36,699 communes.

How many cities are in France?

France has 1 cities with more than a million people, 38 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 915 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people.

What are the names of the 5 overseas regions in France?

The five French overseas territorial communities are Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the Wallis and Futuna Islands and French Polynesia.